#17. Gretchen Comes To Life In The Mall Parking Lot


I came to terms with my smoking fetish in the spring of 1999.  A monster was born and I became completely obsessed with it the following year…my senior year of college when I wrote about a dozen smoking fiction stories that were fairly well-received by the online smoking fetish community.  My most enduring character from these stories was the chain-smoking blond college girl “Gretchen” who would become my girlfriend over the course of the three stories I wrote that featured her.  This context is necessary to appreciate what I would run into in June 2000, just a few months after I had written the Gretchen stories.  I had finished college and had moved back in with the folks for awhile as I looked for a full-time job.  On Sundays, I would go to church with my mom and this particular Sunday she went into the mall afterwards to shop and I remained in the car, a chore that didn’t seem so problematic in the post-coming-to-terms-with-my-smoking-fetish era.

Only a few moments after my mom went inside, a red car pulled into a nearby parking stall.  I immediately made a mental note of the blond beauty behind the steering wheel with a cigarette between her fingers.  But it wasn’t until she got outside that the magnitude of this sighting hit me. Out stepped this bodacious 21ish blond….a complete bombshell…decked out in a tight white tanktop and skimpy jean shorts.   And she proceeded to ruffle through her purse looking for something in my direct line of vision….while dangling the cork-filter cigarette from her lips the entire time.  This girl was Gretchen personified!!!

I was praying my mom would be awhile in the mall and that Gretchen 2.0 would not be in there long….because I just had to see a second act from this babe.  In the meantime, looking at her red car sitting there two car lengths away, I had a mischievous little investigation in mind that I had to follow through with.  I slinked out of my mom’s car and walked towards hers.  As I passed I peeked in through the passenger window.  I was momentarily breathless as I saw a cluster of about five or six empty packs of Marlboro Reds on her passenger seat.  This girl was an absolute dream come true.  Now it was just a matter of waiting her out and hoping I’d see her again.  Unfortunately, her timing would coincide with my mom’s about a half hour later, and the logistics were such that I wasn’t able to get a good look as she was returning to her car.  I was practically jumping out of my skin in panic, but finally, as she was pulling out of the parking stall, I was able to catch one last glimpse of my fantasy girl Gretchen come to life….and as expected, she was holding another freshly lit Marlboro Red between her fingers.

This entry was posted in Top-52 Random Lifetime Sightings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.