MNSF #23. “Sophie” Takes A Break From Serving Wholesome Dairy Products To Smoke A Parliament


I’ve gotten a few solid sightings at the designated smoking area on Judson Avenue on the south side of the grounds in the past couple of years but I hadn’t scored anything at all worth mentioning throughout the daytime hours on Day 1 of the 2015 Minnesota State Fair until that very abruptly changed right around 6:00 when my already spectacular run of sightings hit its crescendo when I approached the center of the smoking area and found my best sighting of the day…

Standing there in a blue T-shirt with a matching blue work hat with her hair coming out the back in a ponytail along with black shorts on the bottom and a freshly lit cigarette between her fingers was this unbelievably wholesome petite blond who looked underage.  It’s a little harder to tell these days as young girls always look younger than they used to and her diminutive size may have been playing tricks on me.  It’s possible she was 18 but my money would be on 16.  And best yet, the reason she was standing there all by herself smoking behind the ashtray was because she was a worker on a smoke break in the dairy building behind her.  I know this because it said “Dairy Goodness Produced with Pride” on her T-shirt….and there was an even more helpful nametag on that T-shirt that read “Sophie”.  What an adorable name for this underage smoking blond, a name that perfectly matched the face I had been looking for all day.  And on top of this killer presentation, the little girl had style too.  After every drag, she did the famous “gulp” style of ingestion with her cheeks puffing up like a blowfish before delivering the carcinogenic cocktail into her black little lungs.  And from out of her mouth came a moderate-sized exhale followed by a residual haze that flowed from her mouth and nose that was just impossibly sexy coming from such a precious face.  I got a couple of really good pics from the standing position and knew right away this sighting was something special, but things were about to get even better…..

A middle-aged woman was sitting on the edge of the cement base of a statue that serves as a makeshift bench in the smoking area, but she got up to leave when she finished her cigarette, leaving me a perfect wide-open seat just a few feet away from Sophie and an even better vantage point for close-up pics and her general smoking performance.  I got a new perspective from this position.  Her legs were obstructed from my view at my original vantage point but now I was able to see she had a black brace around her right knee indicating she had injured it somehow, possibly in sports even though she’s clearly an addicted cigarette smoker.  I suppose I would have preferred admiring her smooth unobstructed leg but the black brace around her knee gave me just a little bit more insight into Sophie’s character.  But she could have had lizard legs and I’d still have been turned on by this first-rate smoking performance which I was now witnessing very up close and personally, watching those adorable cheeks of hers swell up after every drag followed by cloudy exhales and a residual haze of smoke filtering out of her face after the original exhale.

She continued to drag frequently on what I presume was a short break so that haze of smoke in front of her face never really went away as she puffed on that all-white cigarette relentlessly.  I was close enough to see the writing on the butt and could tell it was a Parliament, an increasingly rare brand in the Upper Midwest as they are quite a bit more expensive than the traditional brands, which made it even more cute knowing that young Sophie was probably shelling out close to $10 a pack for her precious Parliaments every day.  Another cute little quirk of hers standing so close to that community ashtray is that she held her rapidly depleting cigarette directly over the ashtray every time she ashed.  Everything about Miss Sophie was just adorable and as heavily as she was hitting her Parliament from as close by, I was certainly getting in on my share of the foul odor exiting her respiratory system that filled my nostrils with delight….

The sighting lasted no more than two minutes with as quickly as she was smoking (not supersmoking but at a very rapid clip nonetheless) before she crushed out the Parliament in the community ashtray and headed back into the dairy building where she would presumably resume peddling wholesome dairy products to fairgoers unprepared for how stinky this teen cutie would be when they got up close to her.  I’m still kicking myself for not having the presence of mind to follow her inside the building to see exactly where she worked.  I was more worried about studying the pics I got on my phone, some of which were fantastic but others which were obstructed a bit by the sun rays behind her….or perhaps it was just the haze of smoke coming from her face that was blurring up my camera!  Either way, she was my favorite sighting of August 29, 2015, and I returned to that Judson Avenue smoking area as frequently as possible to see if I could catch her on her next smoke break.

Now I was excited that Sophie’s smoking story might carry over into the next week when I went back.  This time I did go into the dairy building several times and spotted her working at one of the several tills for the heavily visited dairy booth selling all kinds of dairy products.  Unfortunately, I made many visits to the smoking area on Judson Avenue over the course of the day, including another one at 6 p.m. when I had seen her on a smoke break the week before, and never saw her smoking again.  Sophie’s smoking story ended for me that first day, but even so she was far and away the highlight of a day that was already going very well and a lasting memory from the 2015 Minnesota State Fair.

This entry was posted in Top-100 Minnesota State Fair Sightings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

