2010 Minnesota State Fair, Day 1


As expected, my Monday at the fair was very much a retro-style trip to the Minnesota State Fair with that evening concert taking away the hours of peak fetish time just as was the case from 2001-2005.  Particularly since this trip was on a Monday instead of my usual weekend excursion, I wasn’t expecting much.  And most of the day lived up to those low expectations.  I’ve been spoiled by the endless assault of epicness experienced at both my local county fair and Iowa State Fair earlier this month, but even accounting for that most of my day was lame.  I was fully prepared to type a scathing writeup of my worst day at the Minnesota State Fair since 1999, but right around 6 p.m. the day was salvaged by a flurry of blockbusters.  It was still a below-average day, but at least I had a few things to get excited about as I type this up.  Numberswise, I scored 117 sightings, albeit with plenty of “barely qualifiers” in the mix.  That’s on par with both my expectations and my 2001-2005 numbers as well.

I mentioned last year how my first day at the MNSF played out like the 2002 trip, where I had a steady diet of sightings from a numbers standpoint but with few truly memorable sightings.  This year played out more like 2003, where my early hours at the fair were dry but the blockbusters started piling on late.  Also bearing an odd resemblance to 2003 was that I had Sighting #1 before I even got into the fairgrounds at 9:30.  That year, a college-age hottie parking next to my mom and I was preparing her pack of cigarettes and lighter to take into the fairgrounds.  Talk about a good way to start the day.  This year’s Sighting #1 wasn’t that intense, but after my parents parked we walked towards the front gate and I already saw an attractive mid-20s brunette with a cigarette in her hand next to a middle-aged nonsmoking lady that I assumed to be her mom.  As we approached the ticket counter, the woman stopped to finish her cigarette and I got one good look as I walked past with my ticket.  You can never gauge by the first sighting how good of a day it’s gonna be, but I was optimistic after that opener.

And it’s a good thing I was optimistic because I was still not feeling great.  The worst of the cold was behind me but the cough will not go away.  And like an idiot, I binged on caffeine the night before and couldn’t fall asleep in my parents’ sweltering house with no A/C.  As a consequence, I got an hour and a half of sleep going into the grounds and felt pretty blah.  It wouldn’t completely drag down, but I definitely wanted to be feeling my best for my great Minnesota State Fair day and I wasn’t.

I slogged around the fairgrounds through those usually marginal morning hours.  The first sighting to impress at all was Sighting #6.  A few minutes earlier, I had seen a cluster of friends with a slight alternative look and took special note of this brunette in the bunch.  I didn’t really suspect that the more wholesome-looking 21ish girl with auburn hair would be a smoker, but when I next saw them, there was the auburn-haired girl with a cigarette while the brunette wasn’t smoking.  She was only a 7 on a scale of 1-10 lookswise, but was still the best-looking girl I’d seen so far.  A couple hours later, I would see the cluster again, and this time both girls were smoking.

Next came Sighting #8.  It was a great sighting, but not “sighting of the day” material for most days at the state fair.  Nonetheless, until 6 p.m. last night, it looked like it was gonna be the sighting of the day.  It actually started at the edge of the beer gardens near one of the livestock barns as I looked ahead and saw the girl that would become Sighting #7.  From a distance, she looked pretty good but when I got there she was only okay.  Luckily, when I turned the other direction, I hit pay dirt as I saw an attractive dirty blonde in the middle of a talking exhale with her boyfriend.  A little context….last year I scored a blockbuster sighting of two underage girls sitting at this spot smoking and spitting.  The general area seems to be a common hangout for smokers, only this year there was a new addition to the area…a cluster of port-a-potties, which will soon come into play in the sighting…

Anyway, the girl was a 22ish dirty blonde.  She was definitely attractive, but her body raised her sex appeal further, particularly draped in a sexy purple tanktop and jean shorts as it was.  She was in the company of a boyfriend who wasn’t smoking, but she handed him the cigarette and I was prepared for a mediocre “girl and guy sharing a cigarette” sighting, but then I watched the girl go into one of the port-a-potties to relieve herself and a most delicious thought went through my head.  Wouldn’t it great, I thought, if loverboy was simply taking on the role of cigarette caretaker as his cute but stinky girlfriend emptied out her bladder?  And proving that there is a God, that is actually how it played out but with one minor exception.  After about a minute of holding the cigarette, the boyfriend took a very small puff which he blew out without inhaling.  He was actually making sure he kept girlie’s cigarette burning.  I wonder if she requested when handing him the cigarette to “take an occasional puff on this to make sure mama’s cigarette doesn’t go out”.

She would ultimately step outside the port-a-potty and the whipped boyfriend dutifully handed her the cigarette.  I followed in hot pursuit.  Her drags and exhales were impressive if not necessarily distinctive.  The couple walked into the midway , and as they approached a trash can to the couple’s right, the girl handed the guy the mostly smoked cigarette.  I had no idea what was about transpire but watched in awe as the boyfriend took the cigarette and crushed the cherry out on the garbage can and then tossed the butt inside before the couple kept walking.  I’m sorry but this guy has to be a fetisher and the girl must know he gets off on anything related to her smoking.  What else would explain a guy so pussy-whipped that he would willingly take on these menial tasks for his stinky girlfriend.  Hot stuff, and this would be my best sighting of the morning hours….and the afternoon hours for that matter as the day was about to take a pretty long dry spell.

Interestingly, I took a full loop around the grounds and wound up in that same spot at the edge of the beer gardens near the port-a-potties before I would see the next good sighting with Sighting #11.  Standing by herself was a decently attractive mid-20s long-haired dark blonde.  While her features were attractive, it was her outfit that lured me in, as she wore a black top with this very businesslike gray pencil skirt that went well past her knees and didn’t seem to be an obvious choice for Minnesota State Fair attire to say the least.  I only got to watch the last couple of drags before she stubbed the cigarette out and wandered off to the sidewalk to meet up with yet another nonsmoking boyfriend, although unlike the last guy, this one didn’t seem to want to be anywhere near his stinky girlfriend and she spewed smelly carcinogens.

The late morning hours plodded on with few notable moments.  The midday sun was stiflingly hot thankfully there was a cool breeze that made things tolerable, and right around noon I decided it was time to take my first journey to the oft-mentioned north side of the fairgrounds, which are more sparse but usually comes through with something sightingswise.  As I’m heading up near the 4-H building, I saw out of the corner of my eye Sighting #21, a slender and sexy 21ish brunette walking by herself and sparking up a cigarette.  She had a bit of a weathered party girl look but was still sexy as hell with badass sunglasses, her long dark brown hair in a ponytail, and her sexy body draped in a blue tanktop and tan shorts.  She was wandering around aimlessly and it was pretty clear she was either waiting for somebody or sneaking a smoke break while working at one of the fair stands, and I suspected it was the latter.  I guessed right on that, but I could have never imagined the context would be as wild as it was….

She crushed out her cigarette and threw it in the trash and then walked down a side street on the fairgrounds and approached a cluster of coworkers….at the “Walk for COPD” stand….and in the breathing disorder COPD!  WTF??!  This was an even more clueless contrast than the cigar girl from 2008 looking at the anti-meth booth.  Here was a girl who worked at a COPD booth and smoked cigarettes.  No wonder she walked a block away to sneak her smoke.  I just can’t imagine what would compel a girl who smokes to work at a COPD booth unless she’s secretly trying to sabotage their operation and actually get people to start smoking.

I would proceed to the seating area outside the grandstand next and scored a solid underage girl duo for Sightings #24 and #25.  Seating near the steps of the grandstand were the 17ish girls, one blonde and one brunette and both attractive, puffing away on cork filters.  There was an open seat nearby and I had a front-row seat.  The blonde was wearing sunglasses and looked pretty damn cool, and was dressed in a white tanktop and black shorts.  She had a smirk on her face, and the sunglasses blocked her eyes, so it was hard to tell whether she saw me watching her but I sensed she did.  The brunette seemed to be dragging more copiously for her cigarette, and she was wearing a more conservative top with jean shorts.  Both girls were very pretty, but it was odd how the brunette was dragging more frequently even though the blonde’s cigarette was finished a couple of minutes before the brunette’s.  Both seemed like reasonably new smokers judging by their quickie drags and brief exhales, but it was cute nonetheless.  They crushed out their cigarettes on the pavement and drove me crazy when they just sat there without leaving.  I did a quick walk around the area outside the grandstand and returned to find the girls gone, but the Marlboro butts the underage girls left behind still lingered.

That was one of those sightings I had hoped would get the ball rolling for a good stretch of above-average material, but there just didn’t seem to be many of those moments on Monday.  The next sighting to impress in the early afternoon was Sighting #31, which featured a trio that included a college age guy and girl that appeared to be a couple, along with an outlier girl wielding an all-white.  The trio were standing at a fajita stand where the guy and girl were buying food.  The smoker stood slightly off to the side sucking on her all-white.  She was a good mix of wholesome and naughty, with shoulder-length light brown hair, a white T-shirt and jean shorts.  Her naughtiness came from the ring of earrings wrapping her ears.  There had to have been 15 rings coming out of each ear.  Whatever the case, she seemed to trying to be considerate, standing a few feet away from the fajita stand and exhaling to her right.  There was nothing memorable about her style, but it was still nice to see a pretty face with a cigarette in it.  The trio would eventually walk to the side of the fajita stand where the condiments were.  The girl crushed out her cigarette and they seemed to stand there FOREVER dishing on their favorite blend of spices, but after about three minutes of this, they finally wandered off and allowed me to identify the smoker’s cigarette butt.  It was a Marlboro Light, which thankfully seem to be making a comeback this year.

It was finally time for a midway run, one of three for the day and the venue that would prove to be the best for sightings for the day.  Usually the midway is rewarding in the evening but unproductive during the daytime hours, but that was definitely not the case on Monday.  It would nonetheless be towards the end of the midway loop that I would stumble into Sightings #33 and #34.  There was a cluster of four 18ish girls, and the first one I saw with a cigarette was a moderately attractive blonde who had a bit too much of an edge to her look to get me excited, but then I saw her friend.  The friend was a really cute dirty blonde with shoulder-length hair, a skimpy black tanktop and tight blue jeans.  She too was wielding a cigarette and looking adorable doing so.  Unfortunately, the cluster was standing near a carnival game and I had no good place to watch them smoke.  I stuck around and got to see a couple of pretty impressive drags from the cuter girl before taking off.  Curiously, I would see this cluster two more times during the day, both times standing in front of this one radio station booth.  I highly doubt they were working there, but wonder what the attraction was since the girls were standing there a good two hours apart.

That midway sighting would usher in as close as I would get to being on a roll that afternoon, and a few minutes later near the Coliseum I would score Sightings #38 and #39.  Up walked two girls, both about 21 and both pretty glam.  One was a hot long-haired blonde who was very skinny and wore a dishrag-sized denim miniskirt that proved it.  She had a cigarette in her hand and I could tell from the inverted filter as I followed that it was a Parliament.  Next to her was a pretty but less overtly glamorous brunette wearing a rather unusual-looking pair of brown shorts, also smoking.  While I witnessed the brunette take a couple of good drags, I was struck that the blonde was not smoking.  Then she started ruffling her both hands through her hair, which confirmed my suspicion that the cigarette was finished and she was just holding onto the butt before throwing it away.  I followed just in case until the brunette finished her cigarette.  Sadly, she crushed hers out on the pavement and both girls tossed them into the trash can out of my reach.  Apparently the Minnesota State Fair girls are a bit more environmentally conscious as the Iowa State Fair girls who tossed their butts carelessly to the ground.  Thankfully, I would see these girls three more times on the grounds later in the day.  They had by now hooked up with a couple of dudes, and two of the three times I saw them the blonde was smoking.  More adorably, neither of the guys ever smoked, so it was another case of stinky girls keeping company with fresh-smelling guys.  God I love this world.

Less than a minute later, still near the Coliseum, came Sighting #40, which was impressive but could have been sensational.  Standing at the edge of the curb was an attractive but utilitarian 18ish light brunette.  The girl didn’t stand out in the crowd by any means and wore a very unglamorous T-shirt and jeans, perhaps to hide a touch of pudge that was probably be hiding underneath even though she was by no means overweight.  She stood there with a very freshly lit cork filter in her hands and I took a hike to the other side of the street to see this play out.  Remember, even though she wasn’t sexing it up at the fair like most girls her age, she was still pretty darn cute.  But what made the sighting a tragedy was the friend standing next to her.  This girl was GORGEOUS, with a mane of dirty blonde hair going all the way down her back, and her bottom draped in a pair of skin-tight aqua blue shorts that demanded to be noticed.  Unfortunately, she wasn’t smoking, and seeing that the friend had a freshly lit cigarette in her hand, it was pretty clear if the hot girl was a smoker, she’d be smoking one right there….

All was not lost, however, as the context of the sighting became pretty cool as I followed them.  The nonsmoker was standing in line for fair food as the smoker wandered aimlessly around the area for a minute or so.  Eventually the two would meet up, one eating and the other smoking, and they then proceeded to look at the merchandise on display for sale outside a Christian radio station’s booth.  They had a number of Jesus shirts displayed at the front of their stand, and the girls were literally two feet in front of them, with the smoker making no effort to turn her head after her drags, effectively blowing smoke straight into these shirts.  There was a guy watching from the booth but I’m not sure he noticed the girls.  Would have been hilarious to see him get pissed at the smoker girl for spewing her stinky fumes into these shirts for sale though.  From there the girls appeared to be leaving the fairgrounds as they wandered past the Coliseum towards the overpass exit.  The smoker just had the stub of her cigarette left in her hand and I was nervous she was gonna toss the butt in one of two trash cans as she walked by.  She didn’t, so I dodged that bullet, but now it was a matter of her losing the butt before she got to the exit.  Thankfully, she cooperated just in time tossing her butt to the ground before stepping onto the exit ramp leading to the overpass.  I was able to effortlessly swoop in and identify it as a Camel Blue.

I got caught in a brief wild goose chase for a few minutes near the Haunted House when I saw a duo of 18ish hotties in the company of an elderly couple that I assume was their grandmother.  In the cluster was a knockout blonde in sexy white shorts who I had a good feeling about, especially since she had a little bookbag-style pack with her that seemed perfect for carrying cigarettes.  I stood in the general area watching to see if my dreams would come true, even though I knew this one was a longshot.  But I got hopeful when she excused herself to go to a nearby bathroom thinking she might light up on the way out.  She didn’t and went back to the family.  I was about to write her off but then I saw the girls were separating and going their own way, so I planned to follow for a brief while just to see how naughty they’d get when they were out of sight.  It was still a longshot, so it worked to my advantage in more ways than one when I got sidetracked.

Heading down busy Judson Avenue following the girls, I came up a cluster of 21ish guys and gals that included a few knockout glam girls in the mix and an air of cigarette smoke that obviously diverted my attention.  Hottest of all was Sighting #42, a beautiful blonde with a great body in a pink tanktop with a pair of multicolored shorts that wrapped beautifully around her sexy ass.  Damn I wanted to smack that ass in those shorts.  She was holding a mostly smoked cigarette in her hand and I followed for a bit and managed to catch the headwind of her last two exhales.  From there, the entire cluster started hooting at some dude working behind the pork chop on a stick stand.  They then all started approaching the state and blondie dropped her cigarette to the pavement and crushed it out, then moving  a few feet up with the crowd to talk to the guy behind the counter. I’m thinking based on the blue print and cork filter that it was a Marlboro Smooth.  Things were starting to improve here!!

False alarm!  It was mid-afternoon by now and sightings were becoming less prolific and less impressive.  Finally, after a litany of mediocrity, I decided it was time for a second midway run.  I didn’t get anything epic out of this, but scored a nice double-bang sighting that began with Sighting #53, an extremely wholesome looking mid-20s blonde mommy who didn’t look AT ALL like a smoker, but there she stood with a cigarette in hand while talking to her young son, about three years old, about whatever midway ride he had his on.  You gotta figure the poor kid is already stroking his unit fantasizing about mommy and her cigarettes.

Only seconds later, a few feet away, sat a young couple that included a thuggish-looking guy in the company of a cute curly-haired brunette who looked about 18.  The guy was smoking, but as I came upon the girl, she appeared to be popping a mint in her mouth.  Great, I thought, not only does she not smoke, she’s bracing herself for the boyfriend’s ciggy breath.  But five seconds after she popped the mint into her mouth, out came the bronze pack of Marlboro 27s.  She would take one out and fire up, becoming Sighting #54.  I had an open bench to watch both the young blonde mommy and the brunette, but had a better look at the brunette who was performing some impressively cloudy exhales whipped around by the substantial winds.  I took a loop around the bench the couple was sitting on and got a nice look at the girl, who looked pretty hot in her tanktop and tan shorts.  Definitely one of the cuter girls I would see with a cigarette during the day.  So for the second time in two attempts, the Minnesota State Fair midway delivered.

Back on Judson Avenue about a half hour later I would score Sighting #63, another hot college-age blonde wearing a very angelic white dress that looked great on her and added to her glamour considering her only modestly attractive face.  Something tells me she wasn’t as innocent as her white summer dress would indicate though, especially seeing that cigarette in her hand.

I then took another late afternoon loop through the north side.  I guess just because I get the urge to try my luck somewhere else, I keep going back to this place even though it’s less reliable than most of the grounds for sightings…and it’s high-risk considering it’s a 20-minute round trip walk through the north side.  It was looking as though my north side was gonna be a total disaster until the last couple of blocks when I spotted a cigarette in the hand of a young cutie in a little blue dress who looked about 18 or 19.  She was Sighting #66, and there were two Latina girls in her company, one of whom was pretty enough to be Sighting #67, even though she wasn’t really my type.  The other Mexican girl wasn’t smoking.  The blonde looked better from a distance, especially with the allure of that skimpy turquoise dress but was only a modest beauty up close.  Still, the context was kind of sexy as the girls were standing near this display of farm equipment, with one of the tractors featuring a revolving sprayer that was shooting little droplets of water for the benefit of overheated fairgoers.  The blonde in the blue dress wanted some relief and proceeded to hand the Hispanic girl her cigarette and stand near the sprayer to get sprinkled upon.  The Latina stood there with a cigarette in each hand for a few moments until the blonde returned to get her cigarette back.  It was at least enough to make my north side journey from being a total bust.

And those last couple of blocks were quite productive, as I scored a couple more minor sightings before scoring Sighting #70.  At last, a really pretty and wholesome-looking girl in a fun context.  A cluster of three girls and one guy exited one of the fair buildings, all about 20 or 21 and all very very handsome and wholesome.  I immediately noticed one girl rummaging through her pack of Marlboro Lights while the others decided to keep their lungs pink.  It was a fairly tall brunette with a long mane of gorgeous light brunette hair.  All three of the girls in the group were cute, but this girl was the cutest.  Besides the cigarette, the girl also had one other thing that the other two didn’t….a slight bit of chubbiness.  But it was the kind of chubbiness that’s really cute on a young girl even though it’s pretty likely it won’t be so cute in another five years when she’s likely to chub up more considerably.  Anyway, she wasn’t letting the few extra pounds she was carrying limit her wardrobe as she was decked out in a very sexy white tanktop and a pair of awesome pale jean shorts that hugged that ample posterior of hers gorgeously.  Not sure what it is, but some girls look better with a little chub on their booties than do the skinny minnies, and this girl was definitely one of them.  I know I would have loved to cop a feel….

But back to the smoking, she dangled the unlit cigarette from her lips a few moments before finding her lighter and sparking up.  The rest of her nonsmoking cluster carried on without a peep as cutie got her stink on.  I tried to get a close look at her smoking style,  and while her drags were lengthy and impressive, unfortunately she was walking straight into the wind, and her exhales barely escaped her nose and mouth before the wind whipped them through her hair and behind her.  I wasn’t complaining insofar as I was able to catch the headwind of a couple of these exhales, but I kind of wished I could have seen more in the way of style from this girl as she dragged copiously while conversing with her nonsmoking friends.  She tossed the butt down a manhole grate at the curb, but at least I already knew that her brand was Marlboro Lights.  One of my better sightings of the day….

I had now done the north side loop, it was after 5 p.m., and the time of day that sightings tend to really take off numberswise.  I had two more hours before I was supposed to meet up with the family for the concert and I was feeling pretty good about my prospects for my remaining time.  I imagine my despair when, after a modest Sighting #71, I would hit an infuriating half-hour stretch of absolutely NOTHING!  In fact, it was worse than nothing as I would come across a would-be epic that never panned out and turned out to be one of the weirdest nonsightings I’ve ever encountered, along with a couple other top prospects, one of which would pan out.  Allow me to describe the three scenarios…

Seated on a bench in the general vicinity of the grandstand were two insanely glamorous 18ish hotties with a streaked mix of light brunette and blonde hair.  These girls were HOT and would have looked amazing smoking cigarette.  I stood by watching just in case there might be a light-up.  And then, low and behold, a long cylindrical all-white substance emerged in the hand of the girl on the left, the cutest of the two wearing a glam black top and jean shorts with her smooth, well-toned legs crossed.  From there, an item that very much resembled an orange Bic lighter emerged in her other hand.  This was gonna happen!!!  Only it didn’t.  At one point, she even rolled the white cylinder that I thought for sure was a cigarette between her hands and then simply let it sit next to her on the bench.  I couldn’t stand it anymore and finally approached her bench, looking from behind and discovering that whatever the white cylinder was, it was too narrow around to be a cigarette and didn’t appear to have any tobacco inside….I think.  Honestly, I still have no idea what that thing was.  I didn’t give up though and kept coming back to these two for the coming moments, and at one point saw a definite book of matches in the girl’s hands.  Finally, however, I would return to see the girls were gone, with the book of matches she was holding on the pavement next to where she sat.  It was easily one of the most frustrating and bizarre would-be sightings I’ve ever encountered.

Adding to my frustration were two other sets of girls in the west side seating area near the grandstand.  There were two adorable 16ish brunettes there who parked their cute little asses on that cement forever, and continually foraged through their purses, keeping hope alive for eventual tobacco consumption that never transpired.  However, and keep this one in mind, there were two other clusters of 16-17ish teens, two boys and two girls, who were a stone’s throw away from the brunettes in the traditional seating area.  These four teens were all clustered up on a remote corner on the grass outside the grandstand gates, and it struck me that they wouldn’t be up there unless they doing something naughty.  I stuck around and kept returning to this area for a good 20-minute stretch not seeing anything, but I still knew something had to be up.  Both of the girls couldn’t have been cuter, with a long-haired brunette in a white top and jean shorts, and a blonde in a pink top with white shorts.  Not sure which girl was hotter because they were both 9.5 or better.  Again, to be continued….

Finally the long dry spell broke but the sightings were fewer and further between than they should have been at that hour and of very marginal quality.  I had always planned to do one more midway run before day’s end, and since the midway had come through for me twice before that day, it was a no-brainer to try to change my luck there again.  About halfway through the lengthy midway loop, I began to notice how intense my foot pain was becoming and decided it was time to slip in the gel-filled inserts into my shoes that I’d been carrying my back pocket all day.  I was at my lowest point of the day morale-wise as I stepped back into my shoes and proceeded onward to the rest of the midway, but was about to find out that those gel-filled shoe inserts were my lucky charms.

About three minutes later, approaching the end of the midway, I caught two 18-19ish cuties standing on the edge of a bench, apparently posing for photos and clearly not in possession of cigarettes.  It wasn’t until I walked past the two girls posing for photos that I would come upon one of the two sightings that were effectively tied for best sightings of the day.  I hadn’t gotten a look at the girl snapping the photos and the natural tendency is of course to focus one’s attention on the people getting their picture taken rather the person taking the picture, but I won’t be making that mistake again as I saw Sighting #81, an adorable 18ish brunette in a little black summer dress holding a very professional-looking camera with a wide-angle lens attachment….and an all-white cigarette in the other hand.  She was giving directions to the two nonsmoker girls for poses and the girls cooperated with cutesy little poses for the camera.  Obviously it would have been an extra bonus if the two girls getting their pictures taken, one blonde and one brunette and both cute, were also smoking, but misdirection once again almost got the best of me….

As I investigated the situation further, the cluster was not limited to the three girls involved in the picture taking.  There were two girls and a guy seated on the bench next to them, and all three were smoking.  The girls (Sightings #82 and #83) were both beauties, with one looking incredibly wholesome, wearing a flower print summer dress, with her long brown hair draped over her left shoulder looking downright angelic.  The other girl, seated next to the guy, was also a long-haired dark brunette.  She had a slightly harder look and appeared a few years older, even though I doubt she was.  All three girls were knockouts and each had their own distinctive looks, but all were in possession of fairly fresh cigarettes…

I found a bench to watch this madness unfold.  I didn’t get a great look at the harder-looking brunette, but had a front row seat to the two most wholesome girls in the group of five, both wearing dresses and both puffing away on their all-whites.  I was most mesmerized by the girl with the camera who proceeded to snap pictures of the fair midway every which direction.  She even had the camera pointed pretty close to me a couple of times and I flattered myself pondering that maybe she was so impressed with me she had to take a few pics.  She dragged intermittently from her cigarette.  She took pretty deep drags, but her style didn’t necessarily stand out in the crowd.  Still, there was something very familiar about this girl, and it finally hit me as I studied her face.  She looked exactly like Brooke, a college-age girl I was lucky enough to date for awhile in 2009.  And not only did she look like her, the little black dress she was wearing was a virtual carbon copy of the dress Brooke wore to Lost Island summer, of which you can see a little bit of in that photo she took of the two of us together.  I frequently fantasized about seeing Brooke smoking a cigarette, and this girl’s display is likely to be as close as I’ll ever come.  Clearly that alone elevated this sightings to its megablockbuster status, but there were other things going on too….

The girl in the flower print dress with the hair flowing over her shoulder was, if anything, even more wholesome-looking than the Brooke lookalike.  It was pretty astounding that the two softest-looking beauties in the bunch were wearing dresses and were also smoking.  Flower print girl took a cell call and stepped a distance away from the group to be able to chat in privacy, allowing me a closer look at her drags, which weren’t bad, but as I said before, tough to fully evaluate considering the ferocity of the wind.  My Brooke lookalike certainly seemed to take deeper drags, and finished her cigarette first, crushing it out and then sitting down to disassemble her multipiece camera.  In a couple of minutes, the girl on the phone finished her cigarette as well, dropping it to the pavement still smoldering.  The guy and third girl were just wrapping up their cigarettes as well. and they would hang around another 2-3 minutes, but finally took off and gave me my big chance to identify their cigarette brands.  The Brooke lookalike was smoking a Parliament, which seemed like a good fit for a girl as obviously stylish as her.  The flower-print dress girl with the hair over her shoulder was smoking a Camel Light. I finally got the burst of energy I needed that day with roughly an hour fetish time left.  In the next hour, I would see the cluster again, nobody smoking this time.  The Brooke lookalike was showing everybody her photos on the camera.  She must be a really photography aspirant.  If only she knew that best thing in the entire fair to photograph was her own beautiful face with a cigarette sticking out of it.

I piecemealed a few more modest sightings in the next 15 minutes before I’d hit my next stunner of the day, the other sighting tied at this point for my favorite of the day (I keep going back and forth between this one and the last one).  One of the grandstand acts last night happened to be Hinder, the very band that performed earlier this month at my county fair a few weeks earlier.  I figured this might lead to some nicotine hotties sitting outside getting their final fix before the concert started, but never could I have anticipated the girl who would be Sighting #91….

Sitting next to a boyfriend was a super-cute 22ish dirty blonde wearing a white tanktop and a perfect-fitting denim miniskirt that looked adorable on her.  Right away as I approached, I saw a cigarette in the hand of both the guy and girl.  I made a second pass to get a better look at the girl.  She wasn’t a knockout beauty, but very cute and wholesome-looking, a solid 8 or 8.5 on a scale of 1-10 who added to her allure significantly with that hot little skirt.  There was no place to sit next to the girl, so I had to sit next to the guy and as a result flew pretty close to the sun having to peer over him to get an occasional look at his girlfriend.  It was worth whatever risk though as I saw that first drag as cutie took a good 3-4 second inhale before I watched the thick ball of creamy smoke disappear into her throat for a few moments, resurfacing again in about three seconds with one of the strangest exhales I’ve ever seen, comparable I think to what you describe as Kayla “spraying smoke”.  The smoke spewed out of her mouth first and the jet of smoke fired skyward while the spillover from her nose came later and fired downward.  Usually these “jet stream” exhales tend to combine coming out of the mouth and nose to form one stream of smoke, but with this girl, a skybound stream of smoke lasted a couple of seconds before the second act emerged, a nasal stream of smoke plunging downward.  I would see a couple more drags from her, but none that upclose, so I’m not sure if I just caught her in a special drag or if this is the way she regularly smoke.  Either way, you can’t imagine how much I wanted to leap over this boyfriend, hike up this girl’s cute little skirt, and fuck her brains out right there on the cement slab.

Whatever the case, that was only the second hottest part of the sighting.  The boyfriend finished his cigarette first but within about 30 seconds, girly wrapped up hers as well, stubbing it out and dropping it to the pavement below her feet.   But my adorable and feminine blonde friend surprised me when she extracted her pack of Marlboro Lights from her purse only about 20 seconds later and was determined to keep the stink alive.  She fired up another one, and as I said, I didn’t get a very good view of her drags, I was amazed at how quickly she made the cigarette disappear, apparently taking pretty deep drags into those black lungs of hers.  The boyfriend did not initially light up another cigarette and was a fairly quiet guy.  The girl wasn’t a motor mouth by any stretch, but she still did 90% of the talking as she pulled out her tickets from her purse and commented on how they bought the tickets in June, yadda, yadda, yadda.  But then the conversation got epic…

The girl told the guy he better have another cigarette because it would be a long-time in the concert before they’d get their next chance.  The guy acted like it didn’t matter to him one way or another, but did heed her advice and fired up a second cigarette.  The girl was approaching the end of her second cigarette and continued speculating on the length of the concert.  And that’s when it happened.  The girl looked at her fast-diminishing cigarette and said to the boyfriend “I’m thinking of having another one!”  Are you kidding me, I thought to myself.  Three cigarettes in a row back-to-back!  How much nicotine does one girl need??!?!  Unfortunately, the boyfriend shook his head no, indicating he didn’t want to sit through yet another of his foul-smelling girlfriend’s cigarettes.  What’s the matter with you, man!  ANY TIME a hot girl tells you she wants another cigarette, the answer should be an emphatic “YES!!!”   This time, the girl took a final drag from her cigarette and dropped it to the pavement still smoldering….

In just a few short moments, the two of them got up en route to the grandstand show.  This gave me the opportunity to finally see what she looked like up-close.  Suffice it to say she lived up to expectations completely, with a petite little body about 5’3”, very nice boobs poking out of that white tanktop, and a lower body framed beautifully in that little denim skirt of hers.  Naturally, I thought her walking off would finally be the sunset to this incredible sighting, but she just wouldn’t go quietly.  The boyfriend was still smoking his second cigarette, but the girl blew me away when she held out her hand and grabbed hold of the boyfriend’s cigarette.  He may have denied her the third cigarette she wanted, but he was gonna pay for that by sacrificing some of his own.  I watched as she finished off his cigarette, not even giving him the option of having a final drag himself.  Where do I find these girls?!?!  She was the nicotine girl equivalent of a camel storing up on fat before making an epic journey across the Sahara Desert.  Suddenly, this was definitely no longer my worst Minnesota State Fair sightings day since 1999.

I was down to my last 20 minutes of fetish time after this, and as always happens during the 6:00-7:00 hour, sightings were coming fast and furious.  But it was my journey to the other side of the grandstand’s exterior that I would make good on a high-interest find from about an hour earlier with Sighting #98.  I looked up the same obscure area and found the same two sets of teenagers including those two hot 17ish girls I mentioned before.  I couldn’t initially see much from my position, but I could see enough to tell that the brunette in the jean shorts had a cigarette in her hand.  There was no convenient way of seeing this one up-close but I had to fake it as though I was heading up their direction to take a peek through a small opening to the goings-on inside the grandstand.  The brunette girl was the only one of the four smoking, and I only got to see one inconclusive drag.  Still, the context made this one of my favorite sightings of the day.  The reason the girl was standing up while the others were sitting is that apparently her jean shorts and underwear were giving her a wedgie.  I kid you not, the lucky bastard sitting next to her got the lucky job of pulling the denim and panties out of her ass crack.  She was literally crouched down a little while standing there as the guy dutifully tugged away at thin layer of fabric covering her incredible ass.  I’ve never seen anything like this before and want to sign on to get a girlfriend who requests a guy do this for her.  Meanwhile, the poor nonsmoker guy dislodging his girlfriend’s wedgie was also in the crosshairs of the sidestream smoke coming off of her cigarette.  Needless to say, I’m glad I didn’t give up on this cluster as they came through with one of my favorite sightings of the day.

I wouldn’t top those three in my brief period left, but would hit the century mark in style a couple short minutes later as I spotted two 17-18ish girls that made up Sightings #100 and #101, one brunette and one blonde.  The brunette was by far the prettier girl of the two though and had a real wholesome look about her.  I would have loved to stick around to see this entire sighting play out, but was only a few short minutes from having to meet up with the family at this point and had to walk a considerable distance to get to the meeting point.

A tragedy of Shakespearean proportion unfolded on the final block before the information stand where I was to meet with my parents and my lesbian aunt and her girlfriend who had dropped by a few hours earlier.  I was thinking to myself that if there was one missing ingredient to the day it was the lack of really wholesome underage girls, of whom were so abundant at the Iowa State Fair two weeks ago.  At pretty much the exact moment I’m thinking this, I hear the unmistakable flick of a lighter only a few feet to my right, obviously inducing me to look over my shoulder.  Walking next to me was Sighting #104, the sweetest-looking underage girl I’d seen already, a petite long-haired blonde who was wearing denim capris and a blue “Fair Staff” shirt, a telltale sign that she was a temporary fair employee.  She was about 16 or 17 and for a few seconds let that freshly lit cigarette dangle in her young mouth.  I suppose it could have been worse and I may have not gotten the opportunity to see this girl at all.  After all, I did get to walk the final block in her crosshairs and stealing a few glances.  Still, if it wasn’t for meeting up with the family, I could have followed this girl and gotten a complete sighting.  I stole one more glance from the side as she pressed forward.  She cut loose an impressive exhale that the wind flung around the side of her cute little face.  Doing the math later, she would be the 1,499th overall sighting in the history of the Minnesota State Fair.  It’s a shame she couldn’t have been the 1,500th even as she was certainly worthy of it.

So I was now meeting up with my parents and aunt.  We knew we’d have to get a seat early for the free Rosanne Cash show so quickly headed that direction and found seating for five.  Of course, I was gonna be up to my old tricks and say I was “going to the bathroom and then for a drink of water” as an excuse for a final perusal of the grounds at the arrival of dusk.  I would inadvertently give myself an extra excuse for my prolonged absence though by accidentally kicking over my dad’s cup of coffee while leaving my seat.  I pressed forward for that one final lap through the fairgrounds, and eventually came to the obvious conclusion that I could explain my absence by saying I was looking for a coffee stand where I replace my dad’s spilled cup of java but “just couldn’t find it”.  Perfect.

Anyway, nothing too huge on that final loop but I did pad my numbers with a couple decent sightings.  In the same grandstand seating area where I had see little miss wedgie about 45 minutes earlier, there were still the final remnants of crowds awaiting to enter the rock concert in the grandstand.  Upon my approach, I saw a modestly attractive barely legal girl (I’d guess 19-20) asking questions to one of the security guards with a cigarette in her left hand.  After he gave my Sighting #109 girl the answer she was looking for, she returned excitedly to the seat next to the guy in her company.  She wasn’t particularly gorgeous but still looked pretty good, and really upped her game when she inserted the cigarette into her mouth and did a pretty fierce dangling drag for the next few seconds.

Seated just a few feet from her was Sighting #110, a prettier and more wholesome-looking light brunette college-aged girl taking the final drag off her own cigarette and then getting up to go inside the grandstand with her friend and see the show.

Near the beer gardens and bathroom structure, I would happen Sighting #112, another cute blonde underage girl in a blue “Fair Staff” T-shirt, smoking while sitting on a bench next to two nonsmoking guys also in “Fair Staff” shirts.  This girl wasn’t as cute as the one I’d seen a half hour earlier, but it was still nice to know there’s more than one blonde underage cutiepie on the Minnesota State Fair’s payroll with serious nicotine dependency issues.

I would return to my seat with 115 sightings, and luckless as I am, couldn’t find that coffee stand to replenish my dad’s coffee supply.  I just couldn’t find it!  I knew sightings would come to a screeching halt here, and although I did see a few older people smoking in the seating area, which in itself surprised me, there no cute young female smokers to be seen.  I chatted with my aunt (by the way this is the same one who’s having a liver replacement later this month), who’s always interesting to talk to in the lead-up to the concert.  Sadly, the concert was a major league disappointment.  Rosanne Cash went in more of a folk-country direction after her hitmaking years ended in the early 90s.  When I didn’t see a synthesizer on stage, I knew it might be trouble, and sure enough, she only sang THREE of her old hits.  Three…out 15 top-10 hits.  While the music she did sing was mostly okay, I prefer her more rock-edged 1980s country hits, and she only sang THREE of them.  The concert was free, but I still felt ripped off considering I could have probably scored 75 sightings in the peak evening hours during the two hours I wasted before and during that sighting.  I’d be more upset if I wasn’t returning to the state fair for a full day and night in four short days.

We left the fairgrounds at 10:00 when the show ended, and I was hamstrung in the presence of the family, but even so, only managed one sighting on the long walk out, which is amazingly low for that time of night.  Still, I had one more cool encounter to end the evening.  After walking over the ramp and towards the parking lot, my parents had to do their usual and stop in the port-a-potties before we could proceed to the car.  I hung back looking around for smokers, but of course I’m still a little sick and suddenly felt the overwhelming urge to sneeze.  After a few seconds in purgatory wondering if the sneeze was coming or not, I cut loose a big one, and a split second later heard an approaching feminine voice saying “Bless you!”  I looked up to thank her, and I’m be damned if it wasn’t a young lady with a  cigarette…Sighting #117 to be exact.  Now before you get excited, she was only modestly attractive, probably about my age rather than some super cute young addict, and in the company of a husband/boyfiend.  Still, quite a fateful way to end the day, and after “blessing” me she got out some change to drop in the violin case of some old guy performing for spare change near the port-a-potties, indicating to me the gal must have a pretty good heart overall.

So that wraps up day one of the Minnesota State Fair.  As I said, it was not shaping up to be a great day but the final hour of fetishing delivered big-time.  Turned out to not be a bad haul for a Monday with below-average attendance.  Saturday tends to be the highest-attended night of the fair…and I will be there for 13 hours dedicating every minute of the day to fetishing.  So you ain’t seen the last of me and my sightings yet.

This entry was posted in Real-Time Fair Sightings Reports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

